Autumn Leaves Me Happy

I am enjoying my first Autumn with my “new” eyesight. I can’t begin to tell you of the wonder of seeing “new” colors. Photos such as these don’t even begin to capture the magnificence of nature around me. What a gift I have been given! New eyes to see! And I love the heart shaped scar on the trunk of that tree I walked past! What a beautiful reminder that You love me, even my scars.

In the spirit, Your glory surrounds me, always, as I seek God for the next adventure in my life. The seasons change.

For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, says the Lord, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope. Then you will call upon Me and go and pray to Me, and I will listen to you.” (Jeremiah 29:11-12)

The photo with the cross and the rainbow is the one I used on a recent postcard mailing to our congregation, with the scripture Jeremiah 29:11. Our church is standing at a new door which is open to us. The people must determine whether or not to go through that door. Each must lay down their individual desires and seek the desires of the Lord for our community. We must work as a TEAM: Together Each Accomplishes More.

Every new day for the Believer in Christ is a new doorway through which we must decide whether or not to pass through. Will we stay with the comfortable old way, or will we be brave enough to leave the comfort zone and venture forth into the unknown with a clear mission in view to follow? Will we begin to think outside the limits of our own individual agenda, preferences and desires in order to make ourselves available to the best plan that God has for us? Change is difficult and uncomfortable.

I am not feeling particularly brave right now. I still care ever so deeply what people are thinking of me, saying about me, and feeling about me. I long to be so faith-filled that I am able to lay my life down–to die to myself and live only for Christ. It’s not about me. It’s all about Him–His Kingdom, His plan, His purposes. So, why is there still that place inside me that screams for validation? Let it go! C’mon! Why is there still a part of me that wants to hide from conflict, from leadership, from church life in general? Why is it so important that I stay “alive”?   Don’t I yet realize that I must decrease that He may increase?  The leaf must let go of the tree and cast itself upon the whim of the breeze.

I remember a poem I wrote while in a forest on a perfect autumn day.

How many leaf dances did my eyes see

While resting below this rare golden tree

Skies of azure, wispy cloud

All praising Creator, not out loud 

A single golden leaf lets go

And spirals and spins to ground below

If I were not here to see it fall

Would no one notice its dance at all?

But “Yes” on the whisper of gentle breeze

I am Jehovah, the God who sees

Twas not wasted as downward it drifted

To earth below it has now been gifted.

From tender bud to earthy floor

Back to the soil to nourish it more

From earth-floor to roots it is soaked with delight

More growth to begin after winter’s dark night.

Gods eyes see all—the littlest piece

Is part of the plan he delights to release

And if he sees even the tiniest leaf

He surely sees me, is my belief. 

Rhea Beaudry

Will you pray with me?

Lord, help us to see that we are each a beautiful, unique part of the grand scheme of things in Your plan. Not one single leaf falls to the forest floor without Your notice and enjoyment. You love and care for each one. All of those individual golden leaves together make up the whole glorious scene. Lord, please enjoy my twirling dance as I release myself to the change of seasons. And let me become a vital part of Your Kingdom wherever I am blown by the wind of Your Spirit. When I feel unseen, unheard, and unvalidated, help me to remember that You validate me. You love me AS I AM, and You desire me to walk beside you as You go about Your mission. Give me peace as I dance for You.

Lord, we also lift up our Pastor Peggy to You this week for Your continued lovingkindness to rest upon her as she recovers from her back surgery. You are her Comforter. We ask that she be blanketed with Your peace, rest and healing. Let her feel Your loving Presence every moment.

We ask these things in the name of Jesus Christ. Amen.

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Rhea Beaudry. Bookmark the permalink.

About Rhea Beaudry

I am a retired person who loves to find many ways to share the love of God with others. I love to blog; I also love gardening, photography, sewing, quilting, and crafts. My passion is to see people connected with each other and helping each other to grow and flourish.

Leave a Reply

