Sonship and Stewardship

Last week we looked at a chapter from a book by my favorite teacher. We talked about God’s love language being LOVE. As we learn to live in His love, our lives become saturated with Him and we learn the sweetness of surrender and trust and rest in Him. This week, I have been consciously seeking that rest, as I look to Him for healing for some big wounds in my spirit. He is showing Himself faithful as always, and as I wait upon Him, He is filling me with His peace. There is no greater place to be than in the middle of the Lord Jesus Christ and His will for me!

Look with me at another chapter from Graham Cooke’s book.

SONSHIP AND STEWARDSHIP
We live our lives in the tension of a paradox between being and doing. The key to succeeding in this quandary is to always choose being over doing. We must choose to take time out to rest. We all have to do many things, but being is just as important. This paradox could be described as the difference between sonship and stewardship. We must learn how to serve the Lord but we must also explore how to be a son of God. God doesn’t want to treat you like a slave—He wants to treat you like a son.

One of my mentors, Arthur, once asked me, “Graham, do you want to be a servant of the Lord?”
“Yes,” I answered.
“Then don’t get upset if He treats you like one,” Arthur said.
Sometimes, God commands and I obey. Other times, He makes a request of me because He wants to treat me like His son. Christians need to know how to live life as both a servant and a son. Being a son means God gets the best of our day, not just the tail end. The Apostle Paul is a wonderful example of a man who knew how to be both a servant and a son as we read in Ephesians 1:15-23:

Therefore I also, after I heard of your faith in the Lord Jesus and your love for all the saints, do not cease to give thanks for you, making mention of you in my prayers: that the God of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of glory, may give to you the spirit of wisdom and revelation in the knowledge of Him, the eyes of your understanding being enlightened; that you may know what is the hope of His calling, what are the riches of the glory of His inheritance in the saints, and what is the exceeding greatness of His power toward us who believe, according to the working of His mighty power which he worked in Christ when He raised Him from the dead and seated Him at His right hand in the heavenly places, far above all principality and power and might and dominion, and every name that is named, not only in this age but also in that which is to come. And He put all things under His feet, and gave Him to be head over all things to the church, which is His body, the fullness of Him who fills all in all.

What an incredible prayer! Longevity in the spirit is powered by wisdom and revelation from God. The two streams flow into one, enabling us to understand who God wants to be for us. Once we capture who God wants to be for us, there is a power and energy that flows into our spirit from His own. Suddenly, we’re living life for all it’s worth. Defeats and burnout evaporate. A spirit-infused Christian does not become weary or overwhelmed by circumstances because his or her eyes are lightened with the knowledge of who God is. His call on our lives is certain.

Living in the Spirit gives us a glimpse of the riches of our inheritance. God loves to show us His majesty and power so that in every situation we face, we can rely on Him. “I know whom I have believed and am persuaded that He is able to keep what I have committed to Him,” Paul wrote his young charge Timothy in 2 Timothy 1:12. He had absolute confidence in who God was for him: his deliverer, his protector, his passion. Paul was able to go into places where incredible opposition swirled because he knew God was with him. He was always himself, and spoke the words of God to kings and vagabonds.

Each of us can only go as far as God has given us permission to go. Our authority grows as our maturity in Christ grows. By knowing who God is for us, we never have to be afraid of our circumstances.

THE LANGUAGE OF PROMISE

GRAHAM COOKE
AN INTERACTIVE JOURNAL
BOOK 6
BEING WITH GOD SERIES
http://www.brilliantbookhouse.com

Pray with me: Lord, thank you for Your passionate love for me, that you would come and fill me to the brim with Your Holy Spirit and call me to the purpose of being conformed to the image of Christ. There is nothing that I would rather do or be than that! Let me grow more and more in love with You, and let me learn to lean into Your heart in total surrender and rest. Let my life be an overflow of all that You are within me! Let others be drawn to You just because they have seen You in me. In Jesus’ name, AMEN.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Rhea Beaudry. Bookmark the permalink.

About Rhea Beaudry

I am a retired person who loves to find many ways to share the love of God with others. I love to blog; I also love gardening, photography, sewing, quilting, and crafts. My passion is to see people connected with each other and helping each other to grow and flourish.

Leave a Reply

