The Lord is my Shepherd

“The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want.
God maketh me to lie down in green pastures:
God leadeth me beside the still waters.
God restoreth my soul: God leadeth me in the paths of righteousness for God’s name’s sake.
Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil:
for Thou art with me; Thy rod and Thy staff they comfort me.
Thou preparest a table before me in the presence of mine enemies:
Thou anointest my head with oil;
My cup runneth over.
Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life:
and I will dwell in the house of the Lord forever.” Psalm 23

 

 

Those of us who either willingly or were drug to Church and Sunday School as a child probably remember all or most of Psalm 23; If not, let me encourage you to learn it. David wrote this Psalm as God’s promise to us, in prayer. Let’s take a look at this Psalm – behind the scenes so to speak.

 

 

Dr. Alexia Carrel is a medical doctor who won a Nobel Prize. He wrote:
“Prayer is the most powerful form of energy that one can generate. The influence of prayer on the human mind and body is as demonstrable as that of secreting glands. Its results can be measured in terms of increased buoyancy, greater intellectual vigor, moral stamina, and a deeper understanding of human relationships. Prayer is indispensable to the fullest development of personality. Only in prayer do we achieve that complete harmonious assembly of mind, body, and spirit which gives the frail human need its unshakable strength. When we pray we liken ourselves with the inexhaustible motive that spins the universe…”

 

 

When we, and yes David also, (took) take the time to connect with God, we take the time to connect with our best possibilities. We connect with all possibility, as it comes through God, into our minds and our souls.

 

We embrace our Lord, our creator and Savior. He is our perfect leader, and we pray to be kept on the path of righteousness of His Divine thought. When we connect with God, we connect with strength that we didn’t even know we had. We connect with God and we know that all is and will be well again.

 

 

This is called “Into the Day”

 

I got up early one morning
And rushed right into the day;
I had so much to accomplish
I didn’t have time to pray.

 

Troubles just tumbled about me
And heavier came each task.
Why doesn’t God help me, I wondered,
God answered, “You didn’t ask.”

 

I tried to come into God’s presence,
I used all my keys at the lock.
God gently and lovingly chided,
“Why child, you didn’t knock.”

 

I wanted to see joy and beauty,
But the day toiled on gray and bleak,
I called on the Lord for the reason–
God said, “You didn’t seek.

 

I woke up early this morning
And paused before entering the day.
I had so much to accomplish
That I had to take time to pray.
(Author Unknown)

 

 

We speak so often about prayer. And why? Because in our life, prayer is like opening a floodgate of God’s perfect good. Behind that floodgate is a force, well beyond our human power, of absolute good—even greater good than we can conceive of from our human mind. Prayer releases and renews our energies and gives us vitality and power through God. When we pray, we are having a conversation or a talk, if you will, with God. Talk to God as your best friend. Every prayer should be a brand new experience. It should be new and thrilling—a dynamic new adventure of spiritual communication.

 

A businessman gave this advice, “If you’re going to a business meeting, take your silent partner with you and you talk as you would to a fine acquaintance that has been with you every second of your life.

 

Think about how mothers talk to their children when they are ill. She doesn’t leave the side of her youngster and talks to him/her in a loving, soothing way. Or, talk to God like a father who has been with you every second, believed in you, and was there to teach you how to ride a bike or play basketball. Have you seen the commercial where the young boy is learning to ride his two wheeler bike and says to his mom, “Don’t let go until I tell you to.” Be with God like that. What an amazing spiritual journey of discovery together where you are believing and trusting in a power that is greater than yourself.

 

“When a man picked up his automobile at the dealership, they wanted him to test the engine. (The wanted to impress him with the power of the engine.) So they had him put the car in park and they said, “Now, rev up this engine to 5,000 rpm.”

 

The car is in park, and he revs the engine up. As the car shakes and quivers with suppressed energy, he thought, “This is like me, often all my potential is in park.”

 

We need to get out of “Park” and move the shift into “Drive” and feel that movement forward.   “Drive”, for man, is prayer – prayer in the Jesus Christ way, praying, believing without doubt and knowing that what we are praying for is one with us, and that we are going to receive.

 

“The inward soul needs to be fed—not a food that you get at a restaurant, but soul feeding from God for your inward soul. You may be stuffed with food, but your inward soul is often starved. It might not have been fed for a long time. You may be soul starved, and you do not know why.  There may be an uneasiness about your life.

 

“When your inward soul is fed in prayer, there is an inward poise, peace, well-being, and dominion. To neglect this, causes you to stumble through life overburdened. In time, we become irritable, tired, and depleted.

 

“Prayer releases old pressures. Stress builds silently, and then all of a sudden you are like a pressure keg, and you do not know why, but you feel like you’re going to explode. Nothing has happened in the present moment, but still you are so uneasy inside of yourself. You know you have to release this some way, somehow. Prayer releases these old energies, feelings, emotions, and the dormant things of spirit. It refreshes you with new life. It heals diseases, but that is an effect of those old pressures. Prayer is the ultimate healing power.” C.C.

 

Jesus said to pray continually. You might ask, “I could pray for a little while, but how am I going to pray, and pray, and pray?”

 

How do you talk to your best friend for so long? Jesus doesn’t want your prayers to be a drab, boring statement of the same thing every time.

 

One woman who was a professional bowler said, “I go to God if I’m going bowling. I take God with me. God knows how to bowl better than I do.”

 

The most powerful prayer that we can pray is united prayer. Almost always in the Bible when Jesus sent out disciples, he sent them out two-by-two, so that they would not forget, and continually remind themselves of their spiritual power.

 

Find a prayer partner to pray with.

 

Jesus said in Matthew 18:20 “Where two or three are gathered in my name, there am I in the midst of them.”

 

Each of us has to take the spiritual power given as God-given gifts and use it to serve others, making our world a better place.

 

A minister once had a prayer vigil in one of the ministries in which she served. She asked some of her Board members to take part in the prayer vigil. One of the Board members said, “Oh no. I don’t want to do that. I want to do something that’s important.” There is nothing more important that we can do than pray—to take the time and allow God to come through us.

 

Albert Schweitzer built hospitals in the jungles. One day he asked one of the natives to carry some wood. The native had been learning to read and write and replied, “I’d like to, sir, but it’s beneath my dignity. I am a scholar—an intellectual.”

 

Albert Schweitzer chuckled and said, “I’ve always wanted to be an intellectual too, but will never quite make it, so I’ll carry the wood!”

 

Matthew 23:11 says, “The greatest among you will be your servant.”

 

Mark 9:35 says, “He sat down, called the twelve, and said to them, “Whoever wants to be first must be last of all and servant of all.’”

 

And in I Corinthians 10:24 it says, “Do not seek your own advantage, but that of the other.”

 

Here we are today to follow Jesus. What does it mean to be a servant of another person? To be a servant, we are encouraged to listen, believe in, and pray with.. If we did that, then we would be a servant and a friend, and we would be following the wishes of our Lord.

 

Ella Wheeler Wilcox wrote:

 

“There are only two kinds of people on earth today; Two kinds of people, no more I say.
Not the rich and the poor, for to know a man’s wealth
You must first know the state of his consciousness and health,
Not the happy and sad, for in life’s passing years,
Each has his laughter and each has his tears.
No, the two kinds of people on earth I mean
Are the people who lift and the people who lean.
In which class are you?
Are you lifting the load
Of some overtaxed lifter who’s going down the road,
Or are you a leaner who lets others share
Your portion of toil and labor and care?”

 

 

I love this.  We are lifters here; and I must always know myself as a “lifter.”. We are lifters for all of humankind. That is our mission. When we pray here, we pray for everyone, we pray with people who are not of our own faith. We pray on their behalf, and believe and listen.

 

You are a part of this ministry. You can be a Baptist, a Methodist, a Catholic, or any denomination. You are a part of this ministry because we are all part of the ministry of God.

 

That’s the mission. We are accepting the mission of following Jesus Christ by upholding the very best about another person, believing that they can be healed, or they can have a second chance, or they can have God work in their lives.

 

We are not saying that we have the power. We are acknowledging that God has the power.

 

We need you to pray with us and to uphold the high watch for yourself and other people. It will be a continuous prayer with a rhythm that sweeps around this globe. A tremendous power will be generated. There will be extra-ordinary healings, and an uplifting and restoring of our souls.

 

The road that we are traveling from the mortal plane of feeling lost and alone to the spiritual plane is beset with many obstacles and obstructions, and we need the assistance of The One stronger than any of those who now dwell here in human bodies—we each need God’s help.

 

The human alone is not always a safe guide, because he or she sees in a limited, human way. We want The One who sees wholly in Spirit, and That — we find in Jesus Christ.

 

And that is why we, like David, proclaim, “The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want…”.

 

Jesus Christ is the head of this ministry. I encourage you to be in prayer with us during this special time.   http://thespiritualfamily.chatango.com/?flash .   We meet in a gathering of fellowship every Thursday at 7:30Central time for just that purpose and welcome all to pray and fellowship with us. We are also available 24/7 so join us any time.

 

Let us pray:

 

Dear God, we turn to You, and we are asking that a special spiritual awareness be given to each person praying. We ask that each person being prayed for will be blessed, that God’s healing light and love will radiate through all of us and all those with and for whom we pray, throughout all Creation.

 

In Jesus Christ’s name . . . Amen.

Leave a Reply

