Blind-Sided

John 11:40 : Jesus said to her, “Did I not say to you that if you believe, you will see the glory of God?”

 

 

Have you ever been in front of a camera when the flash went off and you were blinded for a moment? This is the way some problems hit us. We are blinded by the problems that seem so overwhelming that we don’t know what to do. We can’t see any solution. We can’t see past the problem or the challenge because it is so overwhelming in our lives. Like the famous saying, “Can’t see the forest for the trees.”

 

 

It happens to all of us at one time or another. It is very normal, even for believers. The gist of the matter is, what do we do after we are blinded by the problem?

 

 

God is never blinded by our problems. God is bigger than our problems. God knows the solution to every problem. As the old song says, “Was blind but now I see!”

 

 

 

What do we do when we get blindsided by problems? How do we overcome this?

 

 

We TAKE UP GOD. We solve challenges with a higher level of mind than that in which the problem was created in the first place. The only way to ever permanently solve a problem is with God’s ever-present help.

 

 

I would like to share a story with you from John 9:1-11. “As he walked along, he saw a man blind from birth. His disciples asked him, ‘Rabbi, who sinned, this man or his parents, that he was born blind?’ Jesus answered, ‘Neither this man nor his parents sinned; he was born blind so that God’s works might be revealed in him.’

 

Think for a moment about the problem or challenge you have brought with you in your worries this day.

 

 

Think of it in a new way: This has come to me, and for a while it has blinded me. But now I realize that this is going to be the great help that I will experience from God. With God’s help this this will be a major turning point in my life. God’s works are going to be revealed in my life.

 

 

“Jesus said, ‘We must work the works of Him who sent me while it is day; night is coming when no one can work. As long as I am in the world, I am the light of the world.’(John 9:4). When He said this, He spat on the ground and made mud with the saliva and spread the mud on the man’s eyes, saying to him, ‘Go, wash in the pool of Siloam.’ He went and washed and came back able to see.

 

 

“The neighbors and those who had seen him before as a beggar began to ask, ‘Is this not the man who used to sit and beg:’ Some were saying, ‘It is he.’ Others were saying, ‘No, but it is someone like him.’ He kept saying, ‘I am the man.’ But they kept asking him, ‘Then how were your eyes opened?’ He answered, ‘The man called Jesus made mud, spread it on my eyes, and said to me, ‘Go to Siloam and wash.’ Then I went and washed and received my sight.’” John 9: 1-12

 

 

When we have a problem – we may also have been born blind into that problem. We may have looked at the problem, but did not know how to solve it. You might have said, “What do I do now? Where do I turn? What do I do? How do I take care of this big challenge in my life?” I know this has hit me between the eyes a couple of times. I bet it has to you, too.

 

 

This Bible story is telling us that if we mix what we have right now with God, all things are going to work out fine. Where was that man standing? He was standing on dirt. You take the ordinary dirt right where you are (not where you think the grass is greener) take that understanding under your feet, and mix it with that which is holy, and spread it on your problem, you are going to have sight again. With God’s help it is always miraculous!

 

 

Everyone is born blind in the beginning of big problems. When I have a problem above, I’m born blind too. I don’t know how to solve it alone. I search my mind and I might get ideas for the way to solve it or the direction to go, but until I connect with God, that which I already have with me, I don’t know how to solve the problem.

 

 

I could have had the problem for years. I could have done what human mind does—try to learn to live with it. But that is not the answer and that never works. The answer is found in God. I have to turn to God and mix with God and allow wonderful things to again happen in my life.

 

 

Let’s say that you have come here with a problem. You may have had the problem for a long time, and you are blind in the problem. It has been a part of your life so long that it seems like you were born blind with the problem, and by this time you falsely believe that it is going to be with you forever.

 

 

Unite with God. You pray, which is talking to God, but then, you become silent and listen. This is a surrender of our human ways. At first, this human mind wants to hear voices, and thunder, and wants to see the sky part and all sorts of wondrous outer things to happen. This doesn’t happen, and it disappoints us. But we hear other things: soft, gentle, silent voices. These voices are so silent that sometimes it takes us days to realize what we have heard and felt. Then if we practice the silence, practice surrendering to God, we enter into a whole new place – the secret place of the most high.

 

 

In this place you are filled with a oneness with God who does not have your problems. You are filled with a majesty that begins to take over and untangle the maze of your life. You feel good again.

 

 

You still temporarily have the problem that was there in the beginning, but you have an anticipation fill you that knows God is greater than this problem or challenge in your life. You have a source; you are connected with a solution and answer. You are not stripped defenseless. You have everything in the world right now, and you know it without a doubt. What spiritual power this gives you. God turns the ordinary into the extra-ordinary inside of you.

 

 

Jesus connected with God and this created a great change in those around him.

 

 

Second, Jesus turned the unhappy, depressed people who had been in their problems so long that they were weighted down by them, into joyous people. He brought smiles back to their faces.

 

 

Third, Jesus turned those who were sick in body to perfect health.

 

 

When it comes, you realize it is not from you; it’s from God. It is because you have surrendered to God. Nothing is impossible with God.

 

 

Look at what John 5:2-9 says:

 

“Now in Jerusalem by the Sheep Gate there is a pool called, in Hebrew, Beth-zatha, which has five porticoes. In these lay many invalids–blind, lame, and paralyzed. One man was there who had been ill for thirty-eight years. When Jesus saw him lying there and knew that he had been there a long time, he said to him, ‘Do you want to be made well?’ The sick man answered him, ‘Sir, I have no one to put me into the pool when the water is stirred up; and while I am making my way, someone else steps down ahead of me.’ Jesus said to him, ‘Stand up, take your mat and walk.’ At once the man was made well, and he took up his mat and began to walk.”

 

 

Here was a man who had stayed in this same place for thirty-eight years.  For thirty-eight years he had accepted his problem and challenges, hoped for a change, and he had also accepted the obstructions to solving it; but he had done so in only one way—in his own defeated, blinded human mind. He said, “Well, if I could get to the water while the water is stirred up, then I would have what I need.”

 

 

He had decided that there was no way for his problems to be solved, and he was ready to argue with any idea that he could be changed for the better.

 

 

I suppose that too will come when we surrender at first. It takes practicing in prayer to fully accept the continuous, available, help of God. When God inspires you, telling you of a perfect way, and it is a different way than you have ever conceived of before, you will probably argue, “No, God. You don’t understand. I’ve tried that.”

 

 

We think IF we could get here, or there, then we would have our solution. We waste a lot of our time in life, in our daydreams that will never work. When we surrender, when we join with God, when we enter into prayer and get a new idea, God tells us to stand up and walk. Something spiritually energizing and powerful happens every time we connect with God

 

 

We may have been in a certain problem for a long time, maybe 38 or more years. We have immersed ourselves in it. We are so blinded that we are frozen. We are not moving. God says, “Stand up and walk.” We say, “God, you don’t understand. I can’t stand up and walk. I’ve tried to before.” God says again, “Stand up and walk!”

 

 

Where do you want to walk? What is the solution to your problem? Join with God, and God will give you the way, the power, the power of true hope to be motivated to walk. God gives the power to try again, the power to realize that when you try this time you are not doing this as yourself, but with God’s help. You are radiating differently from inside of you, and you are attracting a whole different thing to you because you’re willing to surrender to the power and majesty of God.

 

 

If we are saying to our problem, “Amen” (meaning – “And so it is.”—that’s the way it is, that’s the way it’s always going to be, that’s the way I’m going to live with this challenge in my life—we are making the problem stronger in our life. We have free-will; we can stay in our problem if we choose.

 

 

But today we choose not to! We say “Amen” to God and the solution, even though we may not be able to see, or even imagine, or conceive, what it can be.

 

 

God is moving in your old problem NOW if you will let Him. With a feeling of finality you say “Amen,” it is complete right now with God’s help.

 

 

Every problem in your life has an entrance and an exit. As you pray, do not stand on this side of the closed door. The door in front of you is the answer to your prayer. Do not stand here and say, “Oh God, if I could only have the answer . . .” Get up and go through God’s OPEN door.”  Seeing yourself doing this in prayer helps.

 

 

You are surrendering to God. You are walking through the doorway with spiritual help. The entrance to God is the exit to your problem. After you walk through the door, you are in a new realm, a new state of awareness. You are in a spiritual awareness. You start fresh with God, and you are able to forget the past, forget the fatigue, forget failure and move forward.

 

 

I will share one more Bible verse with you: Luke 18:1-8. “And then Jesus told them a parable about their need to pray always and not to lose heart. He said, ‘In a certain city there was a judge who neither feared God nor had respect for people. In that city there was a widow who kept coming to him and saying, ‘Grant me justice against my opponent.’

 

 

“For a while he refused; but later he said to himself, ‘Though I have no fear of God and no respect for anyone, yet because this widow keeps bothering me, I will grant her justice, so that she may not wear me out by continually coming.’

 

 

“And the Lord said, ‘Listen to what the unjust judge says. And will not God grant justice to his chosen ones who cry to him day and night? Will he delay long in helping them? I tell you, he will quickly grant justice to them. And yet, when the Son of Man comes, will he find faith on earth?’”

 

 

So often we think of God as a God that we have to keep bothering and convince. We think that if we bother God enough, if we go enough to God, then we will change God’s mind and God will grant all we desire.

 

 

But this is not the way God works; this is the way human mind works. I could come to you repeatedly and bother you day and night, and you would say, “Yes, I’m just going to give it to him because he’s bothering me so much.”

 

 

But how much more will the love of God do? God is not a God that needs to be convinced. God is already on your side. God is on your side, waiting to give you victory. This problem may be in your life so God can give you a victory.

 

 

 

 

When you go to God, think about God who is loving, willing, ready, and able to give you everything you desire. God’s help will come. God’s will is willing.

 

 

When you go to God, give thanks continually. You will say, “I’m not outside the door looking in. I’m on the inside. I am feeling all Your power and majesty at work in me.”

 

 

Prayer is not for the purpose of changing God’s mind or influencing God to do something. Its purpose is to change us. We are the ones who are blind, blind to the ever-present help that is ever-available to us. We are the ones who have to cultivate our acceptance. We are the ones who need to have our minds and hearts uplifted.

 

 

God is a God who is constantly with us – our ever-present help in any need. And our constant receiving of God’s help solves our problems every time. God’s love and supply will take care of all our needs when we give God our willing cooperation.

 

 

Our vision is focused on what? We should minimize the problem and magnify God. When we ask God for the wisdom to comply with the His Divine plan, everything begins to happen. We are shifted into gear, and spiritual movement begins to happen. We are no longer blind-sided.

 

 

Let us pray together:  Dear God, I listen for Divine guidance. I am open and receptive to Your inner voice. I trust in Your Divine plan of good for my life. I know that Your plan will fulfill the Divine blueprint of my life. I am thankful for the impact of your God-loving actions upon all my world. I pray to not be blind to Your glory and wonder but sincerely seek to be a productive channel of Your expression. I bring you a gift, God—the ultimate gift I have to give. I bring You the gift of myself. I offer myself in loving service.

 

 

My prayer is: “Here I am, Lord. Use me.”

 

 

 

 

In Jesus Christ’s name . . . Amen.

Leave a Reply

