Into the Heart of God

 

During this Lenten Season, it is important as we move forward in our Christian path that we respond to God’s calling to “Pray without Ceasing.

1 Thessalonians 5:16-18 (NIV) 16 Rejoice always, 17 pray continually, 18 give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.

We speak a lot in our messages about prayer so today we are going to put that into action. We are going to pray. Grab a chair, have a relaxing seat and open your hands and heart to God. This is your prayer – just for you.

My Father, Abba,

I turn to You in prayer. I take the time to be still, to become aware of Your presence, the present of my Christ. I am filled with a sense of peace and well-being. In the silence of prayer Christ reveals the inner resources, abilities, and strengths that I didn’t know I possessed.

New self-knowledge is gained that enables me to live a more effective life. My awareness of the presence of Christ within helps me to have a happier relationship with the people around me.

I find I am more patient with others, more loving, more willing to give of myself, more optimistic in my outlook on life. I rejoice this day and every day because I am in the process of the journey of spiritual homecoming.

Thank You, God.

Let us pray.

As a deer longs for flowing streams, so my soul longs for You, oh God. My soul thirsts for You God.

Our souls do thirst for You dear God, and our hearts reach out to people around the globe now in this inviting haven of prayer. We join our minds and hearts with all those in prayer everywhere. We enfold our hopes, our needs, and our hearts’ desires in prayer.

We know that You, God, are the very spirit of life. The one true source of all that is and all that ever will be. The spirit of life, the warm glow of Your power, continually flows through me as a healing stream of love and peace.

Like a bubbling brook that quietly soothes my soul, Your presence calms me and brings me peace. I have longed to know Your peace and I feel that peace flowing through the depths of my being. In these tranquil moments I can release my hold on the cares and concerns that I brought to this precious time of prayer. I release them to You, dear God. As I do, I know that I need no longer fret or worry. My heart is at peace. Serenity floods my entire being. With each beat of my heart I feel less anxious and more sure of Your love for me and for everyone who is special to me.

Opportunities for prayer refill my reservoir of faith and give me the confidence and courage I need. I rest now as if I were relaxing beside a quiet stream in the stillness of Your presence.

Psalm 23: 2-3 – He makes me to lie down in green pastures;
He leads me beside the still waters.
3 He restores my soul;
He leads me in the paths of righteousness
For His name’s sake.

In this quiet place, I open myself to answers, answers that come from You, God. No longer do I turn this way or that for inspiration or guidance. I turn only to You, for all wisdom comes from You. You are with me always as my counselor and my guide. I know that I can follow Your gentle leading—confident that I am on the right path and confident that your love for me and forgiveness of sins is ongoing and without fault.

As I still my thoughts, I await Your assurance that I will be carefully guided. I wait now in the silence for the gentle nudge of Your spirit that shows me the way.
.

I pray to be filled with a spiritual homecoming. I pray to be able to carry it in my mind and in my heart. And that it becomes a reminder of the Spirit of life that is always within because:

The light of God surrounds me;
The love of God enfolds me;
The power of God protects me;
The presence of God watches over me.
Wherever I am, God is!

In this awareness of love, light, and life that has been established, I know, as I enter this prayer time with You, Lord, that I have the opportunity to be in even deeper contact with Your presence and power, the presence and power of love that is individualized within me as the essence of my being.

[In the first letter of John we are told that God is love. To emphasize that point, it is stated twice in the fourth chapter – God is love—the very idea of love itself. Because we are made in the image and after the likeness of God, we can conclude that we are made in the image and after the likeness of love. It is the essence of our being; it is what we are all about. ]

1 John 4: 7 – 12 – 7 Dear friends, let us love one another, for love comes from God. Everyone who loves has been born of God and knows God. 8 Whoever does not love does not know God, because God is love. 9 This is how God showed his love among us: He sent his one and only Son into the world that we might live through him. 10 This is love: not that we loved God, but that he loved us and sent his Son as an atoning sacrifice for our sins. 11 Dear friends, since God so loved us, we also ought to love one another. 12 No one has ever seen God; but if we love one another, God lives in us and his love is made complete in us.
Help us to express in this life experience our understanding of God, our understanding of love. We know that love is the great healer, the great provider, and the great sustainer of our lives, and the lives of all persons everywhere. Whatever need we have in life, in some way it is always met through love.

And it is in this state of love I come to You, Sweet Lord.

And, Father, as we continue along our individual paths of spiritual enlightenment, seeking ever to find that deeper essence of love through You that is within us and to express it in everything we do, help us be assured of success. We know deep down that all along the way, the presence and power of love is there at all times, Lord, waiting to be discovered at an even deeper level of awareness.

Father, help us as we make ongoing discoveries about ourselves and our dear ones, that we have the ability to express Your love in everything we do. No matter the challenge, which lies before us, no matter the problem, help us to know that faith, hope, charity and all through love is the answer. The presence and power of love individualized in us is the source of love and all good in our lives, and we have access to it in every moment of our experience.

Very often, we see the idea of love brought out and prefaced with an idea such as “If only we can love enough.” We know, in truth, that the word “only” is a very limiting word. “If only” should be changed to a word of sincerity and a word of certainty, for we can express that love that we truly are in everything we do. No matter what the situation demands of us, we can do it. Why? Because we are never separated from that love. And You are that Love, dear God.

.
So, if we have brought with us a particular challenge, problem, or concern about ourselves or someone else, let us know that, in love, the challenge has already been met. In You the solution abides. All we have to do is work with the presence and power of Your love to draw it forth from within us, and to express it in everything we do, and in particular, in relation to that situation.

All we need do is relax in love, and let You do Your perfect work in and through us right now.
Let Go and Let God!

Right now, in a moment of quiet, with any concerns, challenge or problem we may have brought here with us. Lord, let us know that, in love, it has already been met. The solution is at hand. And we have what it takes to affect that in our lives. So in the quiet, we simply abide in the solution.

We abide in love in the silence of prayer. . .

Now, having taken these few moments in the quiet to abide in love, we know with Your guidance, we are now better prepared to speak the word of love for all those for whom we are concerned. It can be a member of our family, a close friend, or just someone we know about. It may be a world situation. Whatever it is, we know that in some way an expression of love is the solution there.

So, to all on whom we focus, we say: Be at peace; be in love; and let love do its perfect work in and through you now. Let that solution that we all are entitled to as children of God come forth in right and perfect ways and in the right and perfect time.

So again, in a moment of quiet, we abide in love and we see those persons with whom and for whom we would pray also, abiding in that love which is their very nature.

In the quiet of prayer. . .

Now, El Shadai, having spoken that word of love for each of them in prayer, we can now release them from our thoughts and let them go. We know that You, that Love, is doing its perfect work in and through them, in all that concerns them. There is nothing for them, nor for us, to fear, for once we let go, You in Your omniscient way, do Your part. In that awareness, we truly rejoice.

Dearest Adonai, as we bring our attention back to this time and place, we remember that as we have, up to this point, so shall we continue to abide in love because You are love. No matter what lies before us, love is the answer. For this awareness we are truly grateful. We affirm all of this to be true in the name and through the power of Your living, loving presence that abides within us all.

Lord in Your mercy, hear our prayer.       Amen

Selah!

Leave a Reply

