Love

1 John 4:8 “He who does not love does not know God, for God is love.”

Churches teach the biblical teaching of keeping the Sabbath. If God is love, like our Bible says, then to keep the Sabbath, we must spend 24 hours out of our week, refreshing and cleansing our lives by becoming love. 24 hours every Sunday, not judging or criticizing, not jumping to conclusions, but giving everyone, including yourself a break. The Sabbath is – a spiritual cleansing of love. With our next holiday coming………

Valentine’s Day dates back six centuries. It is a commonly accepted day that they believe birds chose their mates. This goes back even before we linked it with St. Valentine. It has been hearts and flowers ever since. ANY day of the year that we decide we are going to become more loving to humanity, to our spouse, our boyfriend or girlfriend, and to all the people in our lives it is a true Godly act. Valentine’s Day cards are good because they help us express the Divine love that is inside of us and allows an avenue for that love to come forth.

The two great things to hold onto in this world are God and each other. Love is the power that links the lonely islands of different people’s souls, beaten by icy separation seas of ignorance, fear and circumstance. Those of us who come in to the Prayer Room. http://thespiritualfamily.chatango.com  know this love, unconditional love. We share the love of God and the love of each other.

Wouldn’t it be a glorious service to humanity, to begin THIS day, from this blog, a chain of love throughout your entire city, and then throughout your entire nation, and eventually the entire world? We can do this by allowing this chain of love to begin with who? WITH YOU. When you agree to do this you are saying yes to God. Say, “Yes, this morning I’m going to allow Divine love to flow from me. During the Lenten period of 40 days that will begin with Ash Wednesday, February 22 ( a week + from now and we will talk more about thatnext week). But we can begin planning now by declaring that “ I’m going to be loving to everyone I meet. For forty days I’m going to suspend my judgments on people-suspend anger, criticism and condemnation – and I agree to be loving for the next forty days.” If, at the end of this experiment, I choose to take up anger, hate, and disagreements with others, I can do that. But for forty days I’m going to walk the high path and be a real light to the world. For forty days I’m going to truly follow Jesus Christ whose main teaching was love. I’m going to become a sample of God’s love.”

Wouldn’t it be great if just for this week you named your whole town “Valentine” and what if we become that manifestation and then begin a conscious realization of love for the next forty days?  That means loving everybody in our lives-not just the select few who are easy to love-everybody, especially those few who are difficult to love, and keep that wonderful smile on your face to show to everybody. Make it a beacon for everyone to enjoy, savor, and hold on to. One of the secrets of life is that it’s much easier to love everyone, than to hate some. When we hate or begrudge, it becomes like a poison to the soul, which the person holds onto dearly and causing great stress and illness. The projected hated one is often not even aware of the locked up negative emotion. So, let go of that and focus on love.

Love is the theme song of the universe. It is power of new life, not just in you but in those people who come to you on your path.

We make a great mistake of thinking that love must be returned. To truly be in loving action, love must free, not binding. It loves with open arms and open hands. We must love all who cross our path, and not expect anything in return. Now, some hearing this will say, “There Pastor Peggy goes again talking about that Pollyanna philosophy.” But this is not Pollyanna in any way. Love is not a matter of escape from life, rather it is a dedication to God.

When we are from the foundation of God’s love, we go to a new level of awareness of sharing-not really wanting anything from anyone else.   At the opening of the Olympics and during them we see the competition but we also see the love the athletes have for each other. We watch many differing people coming together in a celebration of love. Yes, we look at each other and realize we are different, but we don’t care. We don’t ask anything of someone else, we find joy in sharing. Holding hands in spirituality, and standing up for the very best, of what is best in humanity, as a people.  We are many different races, and faiths becoming one people.

If we are unwilling to love the expression of life called human which we have seen with our eyes, how are we going to love the source – God-which we have not seen? Some people say, “I love God, but it’s people that I can’t stand.” How can we love music and not harmony? How can we love the morning and not the day? Every individual is an inlet and an outlet for the complete love of God.

AND, We can’t possibly love anyone or anything unless we first love ourselves in a spiritual way. We have to know that if we are going to love, we have to pour that love through us (like a hose). As that love comes through us, what does that do to us (to the inside of the hose)? It cleans us out to the core, too. We become infilled with love.

But, if I’m standing here and I realize that God’s love has to get through me to get to you and I say, “Oh, I’m no good today. My hair doesn’t look good today. I look tired. This isn’t my good suit. How can I effectively talk about love because I have the wrong tie on? What was I thinking about?” I am the hose of God; it has to flow through me to you.

In the world community, love is the only safe emotion there is. It is the only safe way in which we can live as a people with our fellow humans and with ourselves. Love gives all, but it also demands all. Love is the toughest taskmaster and hardest discipline in the universe. Why? Because we also have the baggage we carry right above our eyes in our human minds.

We, so easily, can slip back into saying, “Well, wait a minute. You did this to me last Valentine’s Day. I remember.” We have to rise above our past. Life, to be alive, has to consent to live above yesterday. It is not held down; it is freed today in a brand new life in a brand new awareness of God.

I want to quote a very famous African-American by the name of Booker T. Washington.

As I quote him, realize the time in which he lived, and realize he had the right to hate if anyone did. He said this: “I shall allow no man to belittle my soul by making me hate him.” It has been said that as soon as you begin to condemn them, you become one of them.

Psalms 127:1 states: “Unless the Lord builds the house, those who build it
labor in vain.” This is about more than a stick-built structure. It’s talking about the HOUSE OF YOUR LIFE. If God is building your house, what materials does God use? Divine love!

Joel Goldsmith has written: “Illumination dissolves all material ties and binds men and women together with golden chains of spiritual understanding. It acknowledges only the leadership of the Christ. It has no ritual or rule, but Divine love. No other worship than the inner flame that has ever been lit at the shrine of Spirit. This union is the free state of spiritual brotherhood, and sisterhood. The only restraint is the discipline of the soul. Therefore, as we know liberty without license, we are a united universe without physical limits, Divine service to God without ceremony or creed. The illumined walk without fear but by love and grace.”

Love cannot just stay inside of us. It has to be expressed. We have to go the extra mile. People are children of God, but orphans of society are waiting for our love.

Look in the Bible at (John 3:16). You’ve heard it before, but let’s take it to a new depth
today. “For God so loved the world . . .” I like that. It doesn’t say God just loved or cared for or kind of liked the world. It says SO LOVED the world that he gave his only Son, so that everyone who believes in Him may not perish but may have eternal life.

Let’s talk about the size and the scope of God for a moment. The breadth of God-for God so loved the world. The length of God – that he gave his only Son. The depth of God – so that everyone who believes in Him may not perish. The height of God – but may have eternal life.
\
Martin Luther called John 3:16 the heart of the Bible. He said it was the gospel in miniature. He said:

God-the greatest lover,
So loved-the greatest degree,
The world-the greatest number,
His only Son-the greatest gift,
That everyone who-the greatest invitation,
Believes-the greatest simplicity,
In Him-the greatest person,
May not perish-the greatest deliverance,
But-the greatest difference,
May have-the greatest certainty,
Eternal life-the greatest possession.

There is only one God. Love is the only God there is. All else must be dissolved and love, in reality, stands forth. The Biblical statement “God is love” is accurate in every way. God is not a superman dishing out love to you and expecting it in return. No, God is love and you are God’s instrument of expression. To love God is to experience the feeling of love and to let love flow through you.

God is love, and in that love there is no condemnation, disapproval or fault-finding. Love always welcomes its children back into the fold.

Love always approves of its creation regardless of the stage of unfoldment it is in. Love, God, approves of you as its child. The approval of love never varies, unlike the sliding scale of human values.

I’m sure you will have disagreeable people coming to you, people who it would be easy to dislike. You just step back for a moment, step on the right foundation of God’s love, and say in prayer: “Divine love, manifest Thyself in me.”

Celebrate Valentine’s Day by using this time to make a commitment. Join me in this prayer practice of love for the upcoming 40 days of Lent (start getting prepared now). Join me in a cease-fire for those next forty-plus days. Join me in a chain of love with all humanity around you as an experiment. I don’t think you’ll ever leave it behind.

Please join me in prayer.

This prayer is a celebration of the love of God.    Relax now into the presence of God.

On this week celebrating love, I ask You, Lord, to help me become the manifestation of Christ love as I rest into Your loving nature, dear God.

Father, create in me this day a desire to mend a quarrel, to seek out a forgotten friend, to dismiss suspicion and replace it with loving trust.

Inspire in me this day to write a love letter or share some treasure or give a soft answer instead of a hard response.. . .

Help me, dear God, to appreciate everything and everyone around me.

Help me to be kind, to be gentle, to laugh a little more. Help me to know that I deserve confidence, that I can take up arms against malice, that I can stop complacency and express our gratitude.

Help me to remember to go to You, dear God, in prayer every day so I can have Your Divine love and manifest Your Divine love out of the strength I receive during my prayer time.

In the Divine love of Jesus Christ, I pray.

Thank You, God. I love You . . . Amen.

2 thoughts on “Love

  1. This text is so wonderful! This text touched me deeply because it reminds us that we have an attitude to God. I remember the Apostle Paul, Colossians 4:2 “Continue in prayer, and watch in the same with thanksgiving.”
    Mercy and forgiveness are constantly learning for me, because I have to get this love of which Christ tells us, to get the true feeling of mercy and forgiveness. This is so hard most of the time. I always have to remind myself: EPH 6:12 “For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world, against spiritual wickedness in high places.”
    I am very grateful to have found all of you gathered in this spiritual family, because I had found God, but not my “tribe”. May God bless you all.

    • Thank you for those heart felt comments, Lucia. Our Spiritual Family is exactly that – a family. I pray the message of love holds fast in your heart as I pray it does for me too. When I wrote it, I felt fulfilled and wondered if I could live up to what I was writing. That is my journey – sharing the love of our Lord with all.

      Peace, Grace, and Love to you from our Father in Heaven.

Leave a Reply

