UNTIE THOSE TIES THAT BIND

Do not worry about anything, but in everything, by prayer and
supplication, with thanksgiving, let your requests be known to God.”
Philippians 4:6

Is Life Overwhelming? I’ve heard some people say in the past; they don’t want to bother God unless it is a crisis emergency situation. Some have said that God’s help is not to be used for small things.

Sometimes, life can become overwhelming. No matter how much we plan, or how much we prepare for it, sometimes things happen, and we feel out of control. We feel as if we don’t have the power that we had before. Something has happened, but we don’t know exactly what.

We all have at least heard of the story of the giant in “Gulliver’s Travels?” Here was a
person, like us, who was all-powerful. Here was a person who could walk above problems. Here was a person who could seem undefeatable, but the giant’s thoughts were working against him.

The giant in “Gulliver’s Travels” falls asleep on the beach. While he is sleeping, all these tiny, little people come, put strings over him, and then stake down the strings.

A few strings would be no problem at all. He could easily pull those up, sit up, and go about his way. But these little people worked all night long. Each tiny, little person came up to the giant and placed strings across him.

The giant wakes up and finds that he cannot move his arms or legs, and he can not sit up, no matter how hard he tries because he is all tied down.

You and I have had the same experience, of being all tied up in the thoughts and worries about momentary as well as other circumstances of our lives.

These little people are those little worries, those human thoughts, those little things that scramble around inside of your mind and that seem so uncontrollable. Every time they move across, they take a string with them. Soon you are tied down. Soon you are weak in thought and you don’t feel like you can get up again. Soon you think the weight of life is pulling you down.

You might say, “God, can I ever stand again? Can I walk tall and free? Can
I ever be all I once was?”

You can! You can! With God’s help you can.

Sometimes, the things that happen to us can seem so overwhelming. But
whatever they are, you can overcome them! You have the power-because God has the power and the know-how.

We have the ability to have a transfusion of thought where we totally change our mind; where we have a fusion (if you will) with a Mind that is greater than our mind, God’s Mind knows how to lift us up and out of our problems. When we are free from selfishness, limitation, greed, fear, anxiety, hatred, and inferior feelings we can stand up to anything.

Revelation 21:4-5: “The former things are passed away . . . Behold, I make
all things new. ” [KJV]

Who is “I” in that scripture? The “I” is God. Imagine if God came up to you, tapped you on the shoulder, stood right by your side, looked into your eyes, smiled at you and said, “Don’t let the past burden you. Don’t let it tie you down on the beach of life any more. Don’t worry about those waves. The past is no more. It has passed away and you have a brand new life in Me.”  As I edit this message on Friday afternoon, I am remembering last night and the ceremony we had, putting our worries, our troubles, our fears in that bowl (sometimes many bowls and buckets) and placing them on the altar for God to receive and manage. Well, putting that bowl on the altar was another way to untie those ties that bind us to the beach. But, that is no more. We are free; we do NOT need those bowls or those ties. We only need God!

To truly follow Jesus Christ, we have to do this in our prayers, inside
our own thinking.

“Most assuredly, I say to you, he who believes in Me, the works that I do
he will do also; and greater works than these he will do, because I go to My Father.”  John 14:12

Let’s suppose one day you get fed up with being tied on the beach and you say to yourself: “Isn’t this interesting? I’m tied down. I can’t move my arms or legs. I can’t go where I want to go or do what I want to do.”

Perhaps you feel tied down in your career. You know in that moment that there is more. You say: “Wait a minute! I can have more. With God’s help, I CAN be a success. I can do what I dream of doing. I don’t just have to play with these thoughts anymore. I CAN do it!” seemingly tied down. Sometime, somewhere, when you dreamed about it, but
you went BEYOND the dream.

You have to go through this again, and again, and again, to get beyond where you are, to go beyond the imagined potential.

If Jesus would have just imagined and daydreamed, He would not have lived up
to his potential and His mission.

Paul and I are starting a new side business. Do people or we think – “You really think you can build this business?” “Do you have what it takes? Are you really able to do it?” It puts negative thoughts in our minds; there are always people in your life to give you a negative message. They don’t know any better. They are looking just to outer appearances, not knowing about the spiritual help that is available behind the appearances. God is the great “untier” of your life, God is the great “unbinder” of all that
has held you down.

You can have a Divine indifference to negative messages. You know you can do more because you are not alone. You know you can go beyond-be more, do more – because you have a knowledge of God who is bigger than any appearance that you, and others may see with their human eyes.

Now, to untie, to turn from the negativity, let’s focus on the one word that says it all  FAITH!. To be totally immersed, we no longer MAKE TIME for our faith, we now place God first; our faith comes first and we have to make time for all other things. This is a HUGE difference.

Previously, we might have said: “Oh, God, I don’t have time to pray today because I’m so busy. I’d feel better if I had time to meditate, but you don’t know the pressure and deadlines I’m under.” How much better it is to allow faith to come first, to pray, and to meditate.

When you do this, you are recharging; you are getting ready; you are going
apart for a while like Jesus did, and then you are coming back into the
world fully powered, super-charged, ready to perform miracles. Nothing can stand in the
way of the Divine power coming in and through you. You are then FULLY
working with God. You are so much of God in action and God’s love in
demonstration that people cease sensing you and they sense God. That is
the Christ working through you.

We have seen, or sensed those in life that manifest this degree. Mother
Teresa is an example that comes to mind.

Is this a one-time experience? It’s not even a one-time daily experience. It is something we have to constantly decide upon, choose, and do. When we do, we truly follow Jesus, we live up to our potential of all we can do and be.

Jesus told us: “Leave your nets.” These are nets of personal involvement.
What do your nets pick up? If you are putting down your nets in your human mind and catching things, your nets are picking up thoughts of people who are telling you that you can’t build your future, you can’t prosper, that says you can’t rebuild the cells in your body with God’s help to produce new wholeness and life. Those nets are tying you down.

Jesus said, “Leave your nets – and follow me.” What does that mean? OR as we did in the Spiritual Family Prayer Room Thursday evening, fill up your bowl with all the hurts and pains and negativity and ties that bind you and put them in the bowl and leave them on the altar for God to manage. Then, we left it all there, on the altar, and moved forward in His light.

Now, It doesn’t mean to follow Him with just your feet. It means to follow Him with
your head and heart.

Walt Whitman said, “I am not contained between my hat and my shoes”, and neither are you. 

 

 You are much more.
Any time you think you are contained, you are like that giant tied down. Any time you sit in a chair and think this is all there is to your life, you are like that giant tied down.

If something is going wrong and you’re depressed and you think this is all
there is, you are like that giant tied down. You need to go to God and untie that mind that caused your problems, in order to heal your problems.

When you do, the strings just melt away. The burdens are no longer burdens
because you have 1000 times the power. You follow Christ to your potential. Christ already gave Himself for you. Now you can set down your bowl; you can let those ties that bind you on the shore just melt away. You now can move forward toward the Goal!

Christ IN YOU-the hope of glory!

Let us pray.

Dear God, I know that I am more, I can do more, be more, and manifest more
in my life. I agree to follow You, dear God in my spirituality. God, I
totally consent to You NOW . Help me to keep my focus single, manifest through my eyes so that I am no longer blind-so I can see beauty everywhere in a new degree,
higher, better and deeper than I ever have before. Manifest in my physical body so I can express radiant health. Manifest in my beingness so wherever I go I will radiate
spiritual love to everyone without saying a word or making one action.

I give myself totally and completely today. I leave my nets; I let the ties fall away; I leave my bowl on the altar; I follow, and I become.

In Jesus Christ’s name we so dedicate ourselves-each one of us-to this
lasting truth.    Amen.

Leave a Reply

